The end of the year is the time to award the best of 2020. The Game Awards and the Golden Joysticks have already taken place, but the Steam Awards remain ongoing, with fan voting open until January 3 at 9AM PT/12PM ET. Winners are currently planned to be announced one hour after voting concludes, at 10AM PT/1PM ET.

This year, there are ten categories to vote on, including well-loved standards such as "Game of the Year" alongside some more unique, innovative categories including "Best Game You Suck At," an award which acknowledges that the most fun games can be pretty darn difficult.

The ten categories of the Steam Game Awards 2020 are:

  • Game of the Year
  • Virtual Reality (VR) Game of the Year
  • Labor of Love
  • Better With Friends
  • Most Innovative Gameplay
  • Outstanding Story-Rich Game
  • Best Game You Suck At
  • Outstanding Visual Style
  • Best Soundtrack
  • Sit Back and Relax

Five titles, each available on Steam, have been selected as nominees for each category. "Game of the Year" includes such familiar faces as Hades and Fall Guys, while "Best Game You Suck At" options include Apex Legends, FIFA 21, and Crusader Kings III. Because the qualification for nomination involved being available on Steam in 2020, some games from previous years, including Death Stranding and Untitled Goose Game received nominations. In particular, the "Labor of Love" category is primarily used to highlight pre-2020 classics, with viral hit Among Us and perennial favorite The Witcher III: Wild Hunt both receiving nominations.

For each vote you cast, you will receive one random card from Steam's Winter Sale Trading Card set. These cards feature original artwork inspired by the ten categories, and can be traded with other users via the Steam Marketplace.


Have you cast your votes in the Steam Awards yet? What games do you hope to see take home the win in 2020? Let us know!