Assassin's Creed Valhalla's latest free update is set to introduce a River Raid Game Mode, as well as improve some of the various game bugs and glitches players have encountered.

The Yule Season: River Raid Game Mode update appears to be the biggest update since the Yule Festival at the end of last year.

The official website says that the River Raids are a “new highly replayable mode that will take you to unexplored regions of England.” Players can expect new raiding opportunities, loot, rewards, and challenges as part of this mode. A new selection of skills including an Assassin Slide and abilities such as the Shoulder Bash will be introduced as part of the update as well.

According to the announcement post, the update is also set to bring in “a Title Update as well!” Players can expect to see bug and glitch fixes as well as improvements to most areas of the game, including: graphics, audio, animations, quests, world events, gameplay, settings, and performance.

Assassin's Creed Valhalla players have encountered serious bugs in the game, some even interrupting main game progression. On the announcement Twitter post, one user Stratos Filalithis comments: “Good fun but if you don’t fix the Lunden quest bug a lot us will never have chance of progressing the story. New features are great but fixing bugs matters more.”  Hopefully with the new update, many of these major issues will be resolved. The update is set to launch 1 PM CET, 7 AM EST, 4 AM PST, and 11 PM AEDT.

The River Raids Mode is part of the Yule Season content and is free for players who have downloaded the 1.1.2 Title Update.

Assassin's Creed Valhalla is available for PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.

Have you played Assassin's Creed Valhalla? If so, have you encountered any issues? Let us know in the comments!