How do CS: GO Ranks work?

Whether you’ve been at CS: GO for a while now or just starting out, CS: GO ranking can be a difficult beast to tame. The game itself doesn’t go far to explain how ranks work, and it’s not made any easier with the amount of time you’ll have to invest in climbing the rank ladder when compared to games like Rainbow Six Siege.

It’s no secret that the growth of CS: GO has been huge over the past few years, having over a million concurrent players online during peak times. Many players are learning the ins and outs of the game to become the best, and with 18 ranks it means you’ll need to invest some serious grinding in climbing to the top of the ladder. We’re here to give you a helping hand to get started with CS: GO ranks and how they work.

What are the CS: GO RANKS?

The following is a list of all of the 18 CS: GO ranks:

  • Silver I
  • Silver II
  • Silver III
  • Silver IV
  • Silver Elite
  • Silver Elite Master
  • Gold Nova I
  • Gold Nova II
  • Gold Nova III
  • Gold Nova Master
  • Master Guardian I
  • Master Guardian II
  • Master Guardian Elite
  • Distinguished Master Guardian
  • Legendary Eagle
  • Legendary Eagle Master
  • Supreme Master First Class
  • The Global Elite

At the bottom of the rank ladder is Silver I, whereas the peak of the rank table reserves the rank of Global Elite for the best of the best in competitive CS: GO.

Claiming a CS: GO Rank

Claiming a rank in CS: GO will require you to play any of the following game modes and reaching level two: Casual, Demolition, Deathmatch, or Arms Race. Smash your way to level two and rank matches are yours for the taking. To get ranked you should come out victorious through ten matches, and at the point of no ranking you’ll be matchmade into games with varying levels of player skills, and although it can be tricky, it is essential in helping to determine which rank you should be placed into.

Understanding CS: GO Ranks

Understanding the ranking system is a little like getting to grips with CS GO cases here which took a little getting used to when they were first introduced.

Gold nova is regarded as the most congested CS: GO rank, with Nova II being the average rank for many players, but if this is your first time ranking you should lower expectations to come anywhere near this. Newer players will mostly end up within the silver ranks, which is decided by new players with a limited game understanding, a high number of smurfs, and other mechanics such as map knowledge and economy.

The next tier is Master guardians, given to players with in-depth knowledge of the game. Supreme Master First Class is of a higher rank and is mainly about perfecting your skillset with the art of finesse.

How to climb the rank ladder

The main way to climb the CS: GO ranking tiers is more than simply getting a consistent MVP status and plenty of kills. The CS: GO matchmaking system is based on that of a chess ranking system and is looking for wins above all else. 5v5 shooters weren’t built for 1v1 chess ranking systems. Hence the result of each player’s win to lose ratio towards their ranking.

On the flip side, it’s about whether your team should or shouldn’t win a match when compared to your opponent based on your collective matchmaking ranking. In other words, if your team has a lower matchmaking rank than your opponent and your team wins, it will increase your numerical value more than that of winning a match you knew you’d be able to win. Further updates on the CS: GO rank system are detailed on the CS: GO blog.

We hope to have given a better understanding of CS: GO ranks, but drop us a line if you have any questions.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments