It won’t be long now until we have our first look at the untitled Super Mario movie. It has been confirmed that the film’s debut teaser trailer will release on Oct. 6 at New York Comic Con. The trailer will release at 4PM EST, that’s 1PM PST or 9PM BST. Whilst it is only a teaser, it will be our first official look at the film since the announcement of the cast.

The film is made in collaboration between Nintendo and Illumination, known for the Despicable MeSing and The Secret Life of Pets franchises. The film is distributed by Universal Pictures, a perfect tie-in for the Super Nintendo World attraction opening across the world in Universal Studios theme parks. It was through the creation of these parks that Mario’s creator Shigeru Miyamoto met with Illumination’s founder Chris Meledandri, where the idea started to take shape in 2016.

Chris Pratt Mario
Guardians of the Galaxy’s Chris Pratt will be the voice of Mario.

The animated film will have an ensemble voice cast, including Chris Pratt as Mario, Anya Taylor-Joy as Princess Peach, Jack Black as Bowser and Seth Rogen as Donkey Kong. The original voice of Mario, Charles Martinet, will have a secret cameo role too.

If the film is a success, Nintendo president Shuntaro Furukawa has plans to produce more animated Nintendo films using their expansive IP. Charlie Day, who voices Luigi in the movie, has already expressed interest in a Luigi’s Mansion film. There have also been rumors that Rogen’s Donkey Kong will receive his own spin-off.

The untitled Super Mario movie releases April 7, 2023, and will be available to stream on Peacock 45 days later. Are you looking forward to the movie? What do you expect from the debut trailer? Let us know in the comments below, and keep your eyes on GameLuster for more Nintendo news.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments