Alleged footage from The Last Of Us Part II’s forthcoming multiplayer mode has leaked online. The footage only lasts eleven seconds, as seen via TheIrishLizard’s Youtube channel, at the link below.

If proven to be legitimate, the footage is from Naughty Dog’s forthcoming standalone multiplayer expansion. The mode was due for release alongside the original game, but as time went on, and the project grew ever more extensive and ambitious, Naughty Dog shelved it for a later date.

It is grainy but shows a HUD map in the top left corner and multiple avatars including Mel from the game, who is seen attempting to dip into a craft kit mid-fight.

It’s unclear at this stage if this leak shares a connection to the hack in May, which led to the exposure of level lists, cut scenes, and crucial gameplay footage.

 

Sony later confirmed they had identified those responsible for the leak. Their statement explained that the leakers were not affiliated with Naughty Dog or Sony Interactive.

Later today, Sony will launch its latest State Of Play live stream, so with all fingers and toes crossed, there might be an announcement concerning The Last Of Us Part II multiplayer mode.

The timezones for the State Of Play broadcast are listed beneath:

North America: 1 p.m. PDT / 2 p.m. MDT / 3 p.m. CDT / 4 p.m. EDT.
UK/Ire: 9 p.m. BST.
Europe: 10 p.m. CEST / 11 p.m. EEST.
Asia/Oceania: 5 a.m. JST / 4 a.m. AWST / 6 a.m. AEST.

Recently, Craig Mazin gave a small update on the TV adaptation of The Last Of Us.

At around 31 minutes, Mazin, best known for his work on Chernobyl, explained that work had begun with game-director Neil Druckmann, as the two of them follow an outline of mapping out the “first cycle” of the project, before moving onto the writing stage.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments