The Last of Us Part II Sets Game Awards Record

With the results of the 2020 Game Awards officially in, Naughty Dog’s The Last of Us Part II has set a new record for number of awards won. The game, which was nominated for eleven awards, won seven of them, including the coveted top prize of Game of the Year.

Awards won by The Last of Us Part II include:

  • Best Narrative
  • Best Game Direction
  • Best Audio Design
  • Best Action/Adventure Game
  • Best Performance (for Laura Bailey as Abby)
  • Innovation in Accessibility
  • Game of the Year

Innovation in Accessibility was a new award, appearing for the first time in 2020.

This represents the most awards won by a single game during any Game Awards ever. It beats out such previous big winners as Disco Elysium, which took home four in 2019 and Red Dead Redemption 2, which scored four in 2018. Other well-received games in previous years only won three, including The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice, Cuphead, Overwatch, and The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt.

Fan response to The Last of Us Part II’s overwhelming victory have been mixed. Some have praised the game, calling it a deserving winner. Others feel that its wins come at the expense of other well-liked 2020 releases, including Ghost of Tsushima, Doom Eternal, Assassin’s Creed: Valhalla, and Hades.

In particular, the Game Awards hosts and judges have received criticism for choosing it for “Best Game Direction,” as developer Naughty Dog has previously been accused of supporting overworking and “crunch culture” as well as dismissing sexual harassment claims made by several employees.

The Last of Us Part II is currently available as a PlayStation 4 exclusive.

What are your thoughts on this title’s domination at The Game Awards? Let us know!

For more Game Awards coverage, keep an eye on throughout the weekend.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments