A free multiplayer weekend is on its way to the PlayStation 4, Sony has announced. The free weekend will begin from 12:01 am on August 8 (Saturday) through to midnight on August 9, with all multiplayer modes on the PS4 free to play.

For these two days then, the standard subscription for PlayStation Plus will be lifted. Multiplayer games will need to be purchased however, in the event that they are not free-to-play.

The free weekend was made alongside the announcement of the free games for August via PlayStation Plus, the remastered campaign of Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, and Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout.

The single-player campaign of Modern Warfare 2 is available for PS plus members from tomorrow, July 28 through to August 31. Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout will debut on the service from August 4, and will remain available until August 31. Fall Guys offers online competitive free-for-alls and co-op challenges.

The Remastered edition to the acclaimed Modern Warfare 2, as described in a post on the PlayStation blog, “immerses you in a gripping, action-driven adventure in which you must face off against a deadly new threat hellbent on bringing the world to the brink of collapse.”

Elsewhere, NBA 2K20Rise of the Tomb Raider: 20 Year Celebration, and Erica are available on the PS Store, completely free for July. They will remain available on the service for free from July 7 through August 3.

In other PlayStation news, according to a leak from industry insider, Roberto Serrano, a PlayStation 5 State of Play is rumored to take place next week, August 6. The event - if the leak becomes reality - is scheduled for 1 pm PT (4 pm ET, 10 pm CEST.) This next showcase is set to go live across YouTube, Twitch, and the PlayStation's website.

At the end of June, Sony marked the tenth anniversary of the PlayStation Plus subscription service, which began on June 29, 2010.