The stage is set. There’s a subway network, Nikolai and Farah step in as operators, and a finishing move involving a bat called Edward. As Modern Warfare & Warzone Season 6 launches today, an official trailer has been released. 

The trailer’s gameplay has been synced to perfection with a remixed rendition of James Brown’s "Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag", detailing several new maps. There’s the Mialstor Tank Factory, designed for 6v6 and 10v10 modes of play. Broadcast, a remastered version from 2007’s Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare has been added, 6v6 only. 

The considerably smaller Station map has been included for those fond of the 2v2 multiplayer mode. Last of all is Verdansk Riverside, a Warzone-inspired map that will appear in the MP for Ground War.

 

As previously announced, a subway system to accommodate fast-travel will be arriving to Warzone for the launch of Season 6 on September 29. Otherwise known as the Metro, a cinematic trailer for Season 6 featured Farah and Nikolai hunting Al-Qatala soldiers within the tunnels of the subway. 

According to a blog post from Activision, the subway network will be fully operational and allow operators to “get around the Warzone faster than ever before between numerous points of interest.” 

Season 6 has yet more to offer. There’s a new Battle Pass system, containing two free weapons and operators, Farah and Nikolai. Elsewhere there’s a battle royale variant called Armored Royale, as squads fight to the death with armored cargo trucks, a weapon rotation that leaves a shipment of weaponry scattered throughout Verdansk, and new weapons including the SP-R208 marksman rifle (Tier 15) and the AS-VAL assault rifle (Tier 31).

Head on over to the Activision blog for the full rundown of patch notes for Season 6. 

Season 6 went live at 11 PM PT on Monday, September 28 (2AM ET / 7AM BST / 4PM AEST on Tuesday, September 29.) 

Lusties Nominations!

It's that time of year folks! The good people here at Gameluster have pooled our collective intellect to select the best of the best that 2020 in gaming had to offer, and the nominees are here!