Nintendo set out some strange plans for E3 recently, they revealed E3 was going to be very Zelda-centric for them where they were going to have the only playable game at the event be Zelda U. Of course we still didn’t know just how Zelda-centric the event was going to be, now we do know.

For E3 it is going to be all about Zelda U and nothing else from the sound of it. It has been announced that from 9am Pacific / noon Eastern / 5pm UK / 6pm CET on 14th June, there’ll be a full day of live coverage of the Wii U game. Reggie Fils-Aime will introduce the Treehouse team, and the following is promised:

This will be the world’s first in-depth look at the game, which will also include commentaries by Nintendo developers. The Legend of Zelda gameplay will be streamed from the E3 show floor via Nintendo’s channels on YouTube and Twitch, as well as on http://e3.nintendo.com. The stream will include game coverage, behind-the-scenes info and plenty of fun.

Series Producer Eiji Aonuma has said that this new installment in The Legend of Zelda franchise will be a clean break from the conventions of previous games, removing boundaries that forced players to follow a set path and introducing new gameplay that has not been experienced in previous games in the series.

Beyond this Nintendo is launching a sweepstakes for residents in North America and Canada to win a ticket to the show to play the game – it’ll include “airfare for two, a hotel stay, tickets to E3, a $500 prepaid VISA debit card”.

Sadly this is all they have revealed, so we know nothing about whether we will see new games during a Direct or new details. As much as I like Zelda I think this is a dumb move either way, and Nintendo better have something else planned. Here’s hoping they hold a Direct a week or two prior to E3 like last year to provide some more announcements and details on other games.