Resident Evil 4 Remake: How To Unlock Professional Mode & New Game Plus

You may remember Resident Evil Village featured a ‘Village of Shadows’ mode as its highest difficulty, and you may be wondering if Resident Evil 4 Remake also has a similar thing. Unfortunately, the game is not very clear on what you need to do to unlock this additional game mode, and it also does not tell you how you can access the New Game Plus.

If you want to know the answers to these two questions, you’ve come to the right place! This guide will tell you how you can unlock the two modes and what challenges you need to face in your next playthrough.

Unlocking Professional Mode in Resident Evil 4 Remake

Resident Evil 4 Remake Professional Mode
The hardest difficulty, ‘Professional’, will offer a challenge only for the toughest Resident Evil fans.

Resident Evil 4 Remake only provides three difficulty levels at the beginning: Assisted, Standard, and Hardcore. Later though, an additional more challenging mode, Professional, can be unlocked after you have completed the game once. It does not matter what difficulty level you pick for your first playthrough. As long as you beat Osmund Saddler and reach the end credit scene, the game will allow you to access the Professional mode.

According to the developer’s description, this difficulty level is for players who are steadfast fans of survival horror, and it is not for the faint of heart. Here are some of the challenges you will to face when picking this mode:

  • Ammunition is harder to find.
  • Enemies have increased health, damage, and speed.
  • You cannot auto-save.
  • You must perform perfect parries.
  • Thankfully though, all weapon modifications can be purchased from the start!

How to Unlock New Game Plus in Resident Evil 4 Remake

Resident Evil 4 Remake New Game Plus
Finished the game once? Why not go for a New Game Plus?

Like Professional difficulty, you can unlock New Game Plus (NG+) by completing the main story once, and you can access this mode from the save file containing the words “New Playthrough.” Once you click it, the game will let you pick your difficulty level.

Unlike the original game where you can only choose the mode you complete that playthrough on, you can pick any difficulty level you want in Resident Evil 4 Remake. That means you can complete your first run on Assisted and jump to Professional mode on NG+. Do note that you won’t be able to get the S+ Rank and unlock certain Trophies if you play Professional using a New Game Plus save file.

Here is everything that carries over to an NG+ playthrough:

  • Weapons and their upgrades
  • Items and crafting recipes
  • Pesetas and Spinels
  • Clockwork Castellans
  • Health upgrades
  • Game save count
  • Total play time

That is everything you need to know about how to unlock Professional mode and New Game Plus in Resident Evil 4 Remake! Before leaving, consider checking out other guides on GameLuster, like how to skip the village fight, which may come in handy for your second run.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments