Skater XL Reveals Soundtrack Artist Lineup

While Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater is slated to get a remake later this year, another skateboarding game is going to be coming out ahead of it, breaking a ten-year drought of titles in the genre.

Skater XL, developed by Easy Day Studios, has been in Early Access and will be getting a full release on July 28. In anticipation of that release, the studio is revealing a list of the bands who’ve contributed to the game’s soundtrack.

As Easy Day’s marketing director, Jeff Goforth, explained, “We really wanted the soundtrack to reflect skateboarding culture, as well as pay homage to some of the artists that provided the soundtracks to some of the most influential skate videos of all time. Music is such a huge part of skate culture and by incorporating the artists that created the sound of some of our favorite video parts, and have a connection to skateboarding, it just made so much sense.”

The list of artists is as follows:

    • Animal Collective
    • Band of Horses
    • Built To Spill
    • Cende
    • Future Islands
    • Getter
    • Interpol
    • Kratos Himself
    • Modest Mouse
    • The Shivas
    • Silversun Pickups
    • STARHEADBODY (Fun fact: playable character Evan Smith is part of this band)
    • Westkust

The actual tracklist will not be revealed until July 28 when the game releases.

Skate XL plans to differentiate itself from other skateboarding games by using a purely physics-based approach rather than relying on pre-programmed tricks. During its Early Access period, a modding community sprang up which has gone on to create thousands of maps, as well as skating ezines, in-game brands, and skate tournaments.

The game will be getting a digital release on PC, PS4, and Xbox One and a physical release for PS4 and Xbox One.  A Switch version is planned for sometime later this year. Further announcements are expected to be forthcoming.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments